Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Student Success Team


Quick Launch

Catawba County Schools > Departments > Student Services > Student Success Team
Student Success Team

Student Success Team (SST)

The Student Success Team (SST) is a multi-disciplinary, regular education problem-solving team. The team's first goal is to develop a greater understanding of the whole child and his/her needs by using data gathered through current academic/behavior status, conferences, observations, records review and screenings. The SST's second goal is to use this information and the expertise of the team members to generate ideas, and ultimately to develop a plan which addresses the childs needs.

The SST's purpose should be to ensure that every child has the best possible chance for success in the regular classroom. The SST should not be viewed as the beginning of a referral for the Exceptional Children's Program. If, despite the efforts of the parent, teacher and SST, the student is in need of Exceptional Children's services, the ideas and support of the SST will be valuable in helping to continue to assist the student.

If there are questions regarding the SST at particular school, you may contact the Student Success Team Chairperson for that school. The chairpersons are listed below:


 Elementary SST Chairpersons

Balls Creek Elementary SchoolJan Tripp828-464-4766
Banoak Elementary SchoolMonica Moser704-462-2849
Blackburn Elementary SchoolTerrie Lutterloh704-462-1344
C.H. Tuttle Elementary SchoolRebecca Romeo828-428-3080
Catawba Elementary SchoolMelissa Dahlman828-241-3131
Claremont Elementary SchoolAngela Toddy828-459-7921
Clyde Campbell Elementary SchoolLisa Huffman828-256-2769
Lyle Creek Elementary SchoolLaura Wachsmuth828-464-0299
Maiden Elementary SchoolHannah Clonch828-428-8769
Mountain View Elementary SchoolAmy Freeman828-294-2020
Oxford Elementary SchoolMichelle Isenhour828-459-7220
Sherrills Ford Elementary SchoolAmy Honeycutt828-478-2662
Snow Creek Elementary SchoolJamie Bumgarner828-449-1076
St. Stephens Elementary SchoolElisabeth Jaynes828-256-7250
Startown Elementary SchoolJodi Starkey828-464-1257
Webb A. Murray Elementary SchoolPa Lor828-256-2196

 Middle School SST Chairpersons

H.M. Arndt Middle SchoolJudy Craft828-256-9545
Jacobs Fork Middle SchoolMelanie Sigmon704-462-1827
Maiden Middle SchoolKathryn Buff828-428-2326
Mill Creek Middle SchoolCameron Buchanan828-241-2711
River Bend Middle SchoolGrace Ann Sevier828-241-2754

 High School SST Chairpersons

Bandys High SchoolRandy Keeter828-241-3171
Bunker Hill High SchoolLorraine Swagger828-241-3355
Fred T. Foard High SchoolDavid Ruggiero704-462-1496
Maiden High SchoolSherry Stolzfus828-428-8197
St. Stephens High SchoolKeli Osborne828-256-9841
CCS Logo ALL links were valid at time of posting, but malicious organizations have been known to infiltrate and "take over" recently decommissioned domain names. If you click on a link from any of the Catawba County Schools web pages and you believe the link is now in error (ex: the content of the page is not as suggested, or otherwise inappropriate) PLEASE REPORT THE PROBLEM LINK to our webmaster.